Aion UT Cross is the “off-road” version of the Aion UT electric hatchback, which the GAC Group first unveiled on 12 October 2026 at the Paris Motor Show. Compared with the standard UT, it features a body raised by 20 mm, wider 225 mm tyres, a separate wheel design, plastic protection for the wheel arches and sills, and roof rails. Officially, GAC quotes a range of up to 400 km on the WLTP cycle and fast charging from 30 to 80% in 24 minutes; the 60 kWh battery and 204 hp motor are the same as in the hatchback. The model will go on sale in Europe in 2027, and prices have not yet been announced.
Contents
- What the Aion UT Cross is and why GAC is making an “off-road” hatchback
- Dimensions, ground clearance and boot
- Battery, range and power
- How the UT Cross differs from the standard Aion UT
- When the UT Cross will appear in Europe and how much it will cost
- Which accessories will suit the compact crossover
What the Aion UT Cross is and why GAC is making an “off-road” hatchback
Aion UT is a compact electric hatchback 4.27 m long that GAC has been selling in Europe since spring 2026, and assembles at Magna’s plant in Graz (Austria). The UT Cross is its raised version in the style of a “crossover from a hatchback”, which the manufacturer itself describes as a light off-road crossover: the flexibility of a hatchback, the space of an estate and the ability of a crossover in one car. The premiere took place on the opening day of the 91st Paris Motor Show, 12 October 2026, at Paris Expo Porte de Versailles.
The UT Cross was designed by GAC’s Milan design centre — meaning the car was conceived from the start with European tastes in mind. It is easy to recognise from the outside: black plastic protection for the wheel arches and the lower body, black roof rails with a contrasting “floating” roof, matte-black accents and new alloy wheels, fitted with wider 225 mm tyres. GAC calls this set the Cross package — it is what sets the version apart from the standard hatchback. According to the Chinese industry publication Gasgoo, the chassis for this version was tuned separately with European roads in mind. At the same time, British reviewers note that GAC has not announced any changes that would truly improve off-road capability (all-wheel drive, underbody protection, different running ground clearance) — it is more of an “off-road” look and a little more space under the floor.
This is not the first GAC novelty for Europe that we have covered: in autumn, the group also confirmed the large hybrid crossover Aion GS7, which was shown in Paris alongside the UT Cross.
Dimensions, ground clearance and boot
GAC has not yet published the full dimensions of the UT Cross, but we know the platform for sure — 2 750 mm, the same as the standard UT (the manufacturer calls it the largest in the class). The hatchback’s length is 4 270 mm, width 1 850 mm, height around 1 575 mm; the UT Cross is 20 mm taller, so you can expect roughly 1.6 m. Ground clearance according to official data is 147 mm at full load. That is modest for the word “off-road”, but it is important that the figure is given specifically for a fully loaded car: an empty vehicle will sit noticeably higher.
The boot is 440 L behind the second row; the backrests fold flat; according to the Spanish press, with the seats folded it is up to 1 600 L. Inside, there are 24 cubbies and pockets for small items. The body is 71% high-strength steel, and there are seven airbags, with GAC calling the side curtain airbags the longest in the class — 2.1 m. The standard Aion UT already has five Euro NCAP stars; the UT Cross has not been tested separately yet.
Battery, range and power
Officially, GAC has quoted two figures for the UT Cross: up to 400 km of range on the WLTP cycle and charging from 30 to 80% in 24 minutes at a fast charger. That is 30 km less than the standard UT (up to 430 km): the taller body, wider tyres and roof rails worsen aerodynamics and rolling resistance. The battery is the same — a 60 kWh lithium iron phosphate (LFP) pack — and the manufacturer emphasises that its design (“Magazine Battery”) has already covered more than 160 billion km in the group’s vehicles.
GAC did not specify the motor output in its Paris materials. British outlets, citing Aion’s UK division, write about a single front electric motor rated at 204 hp (150 kW) — the same as the UT for the UK; the Spanish press adds 210 N·m, 0–100 km/h in 7.3 s and a top speed of 160 km/h. It is worth knowing that in a test drive of the European UT at the end of 2025, a 100 kW motor was mentioned, so output may differ between countries and trims — GAC will announce the final data for each market before sales begin. Among the standard equipment, the British press already mentions a heat pump (it saves charge in winter) and a heated steering wheel; inside, as in the UT, there is an 8.8-inch digital instrument cluster and a 14.6-inch central screen, plus Level 2 driver assistance.
How the UT Cross differs from the standard Aion UT
| Parameter | Aion UT (Europe) | Aion UT Cross |
|---|---|---|
| European debut | on sale since April 2026 | 12 October 2026, Paris |
| Length / wheelbase | 4 270 / 2 750 mm | length not announced / 2 750 mm |
| Height | around 1 575 mm | 20 mm taller |
| Ground clearance | not announced | 147 mm at full load |
| Tyres | standard 17-inch wheels (United Kingdom) | 225 mm width, separate wheel design |
| Battery | LFP, 60 kWh | LFP, 60 kWh |
| Range (WLTP) | up to 430 km | up to 400 km |
| Charging 30–80% | 24 min | 24 min |
| Motor | front, 204 hp (data for the United Kingdom) | the same, according to the press |
| Boot | 440 L | 440 L (up to 1 600 L with seats folded) |
| Exterior | standard hatchback | arch and sill cladding, roof rails, contrasting roof |
| Manufacturer price | from €27 990 (depending on market), from £28 950 | not announced |
When the UT Cross will appear in Europe and how much it will cost
GAC gives timelines only in broad terms: European markets — 2027. Aion’s UK division уточнює, that in the United Kingdom the car will appear in showrooms in early 2027, and prices and full specifications will be announced closer to launch. In Spain, where the standard UT has only just begun arriving at dealers, the UT Cross is also expected in 2027. There is no official price for any market. Spanish journalists suggest around €33 000, i.e. roughly €2 000 more than the UT in similar equipment — but this is a media estimate, not GAC’s price list. For reference: European prices for the standard UT start from €27 990 depending on the country; in the United Kingdom — from £28 950.
Along with the new model, GAC launched the GAC CARE+ service programme in Europe: an 8-year or 160 000 km warranty on the car and 8 years or 200 000 km on the traction battery, 10 years with no mileage limit against perforation corrosion, three years of free roadside assistance with Allianz Partners, and a parts warehouse in Rotterdam with shipping on average within 36 hours. By the end of 2026, the group plans more than 180 sales and service points in Europe, with priority on the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Italy and Spain, and in 2027 it will open a European R&D centre with a staff of more than 100 engineers. GAC has not specified whether it will assemble the UT Cross in Graz together with the standard UT. There is no information about official deliveries to Ukraine — for now, the car is positioned as a European model. Other premieres from the show are collected in our Paris Motor Show 2026 roundup.
Illustrations for the article are generated images based on the official description of the UT Cross design, not factory photos.
Which accessories will suit the compact crossover
We do not yet have model-specific floor mats and wind deflectors for the Aion UT in our catalogue — templates are taken after the car appears in Ukraine. Until then, universal floor mats with a raised edge will fit the interior: they hold water and snow just like model-specific mats, only without an exact floor shape, and they can be trimmed. For the 440 L boot, a universal boot mat 900×1000 mm will fit — for a compact hatchback this is the most convenient size, and for a flat floor with the backrests folded there is a larger format. Window deflectors are always model-specific, so keep an eye on them in the window deflectors section: sets for new Chinese models are among the first to appear there. Later on, roof crossbars for a roof box or bike rack can be installed on the UT Cross’s factory roof rails — the distance between the rails will need to be measured on your own car.
We deliver with Nova Poshta across Ukraine.
Pros and Cons of Aion UT Cross vs the Standard Aion UT
20 mm higher body and 147 mm ground clearance under full load — easier with curbs and rough roads
Wider 225 mm tires and protection for the wheel arches and sills from stones and road salt
Standard roof rails — you can fit crossbars for a box or bikes
The same 60 kWh battery, 30–80% charging in 24 min, and GAC CARE+ warranty for 8 years / 160,000 km
A heat pump and heated steering wheel as standard (according to the British press)
Range is 30 km shorter — 400 vs 430 km under WLTP
No all-wheel drive, and off-road ability is more about the exterior styling
Power, full dimensions, and price have not been officially announced
Sales start only in 2027; there is no information about Ukraine










